FO Friday #2

Happy FO-Friday everyone!
This week I didn’t manage to finish anything I could show off here – having heaps of WIPs I may not post fotos of leads to heaps of FOs I may not post fotos of. Luckily (for me) I still have even more heaps of older FOs I haven’t shown you and was too lazy to make fotos of for my Ravelry project page, so I’ve taken the hint and had a fotoshoot with some of them yesterday in between the cloud bursts.

Neither Lions nor Philistines…

I particularly like the collar and gathered sleeve-caps…

    • Project: Neither Lions nor Philistines
    • Pattern: When Sampson met Lila by Insa Ka
    • Yarn: Keops by Lanas Stop (50% cotton / 50% acrylic)
    • Needles: US size 4 circulars
    • Notes: This was a really great pattern to knit. The vintagey gathered sleeve-caps and the trinity-stitch cowl-neck immediately got me hooked.
      As almost always, I modified the pattern to knit in the round (the less seaming, the better), otherwise I mostly followed the given instructions. After some deliberations I decided to reverse the color-scheme: The combination of vanilla-yellow and warm grey was fine, but I didn’t like the light color close to my face (I would have looked like a zombie). So I did the body in yellow and the collar and borders in grey.
      The trinity stitch in the collar gives a wonderfully supple fabric – but it was hell to knit with my chosen, completely inelastic yarn. Almost broke my fingers. Maybe I should have added a few more rounds, but couldn’t bring myself to it.

This happens when I run out of yarn…

Here’s another one of my favorites: Yoke Detail Sweater from Debbie Bliss. I had some fingering weight leftovers in light brown and was just hoping it would be enough. Well… it wasn’t. So I had to add some other yarn at the yoke and chose another leftover in light violet. It looked a little strange when I was finished, so I added a violet bell-ruffle from one of Nicki Epstein’s books to frame the brown. I’m not sure if I’d have liked it better in one color… the yoke detail would have been clearer, but the color adds a little interest.

I just saw on the foto that the bottom edge has gone quite fuzzy – excuse me while I go and clean that up…

Do you ever run out of yarn in the middle of a project? What do you do? Frog? Improvise? Or leave the UFO around, trying to somehow get your hands on another skein of the same dye-lot?


Fröhlichen FO-Friday zusammen! Ein aktuelles FO habe ich diese Woche wieder nicht… leider führen WIPs, von denen ich keine Fotos zeigen darf direkt zu FOs, von denen ich keine Fotos zeigen darf. Blöd. Glücklicherweise (für mich) habe ich noch einen Haufen fertiger Stücke, die ich noch nicht einmal bei Ravelry aktualisiert habe, weil ich zu faul war. Das habe ich zum Anlass genommen, gestern einen kleinen Fotoshoot auf dem Balkon zwischen den Regenschauern einzulegen.

  • Projekt: Neither Lions nor Philistines
  • Strickmuster: When Sampson met Lila von Insa Ka
  • Garn: Keops von Lanas Stop (50% Baumwolle / 50% Polyester)
  • Nadeln:Rundstricknadel 3,5 mm
  • Anmerkungen: Ein rundum tolles Strickmuster! Der Kragen und die Puffärmel haben mich sofort angesprochen. Geändert habe ich nur wenig: Ich stricke lieber in Runden, damit ich nicht soviel nähen muss. Außerdem habe ich die vorgegebene Farbkombination umgedreht – das warme Grau gefällt mir an meinem Gesicht deutlich besser als das Gelb.
    Der Trinity-stitch für den Kragen war leider höllisch zu stricken (drei rechts zusammen mit unelastischem Garn), deswegen ist mir das Teil vielleicht ein paar Runden zu kurz geraten, aber das Ergebnis ist es wert. Das entstehende Gestrick fällt toll und fühlt sich super an.

Das zweite ist der Yoke Detail Sweater von Debbie Bliss. Bei dem musste ich ein bisschen improvisieren, weil mir kurz vor Schluss die Wolle ausgegangen ist. Also habe ich für die “Blüten” im Kragen ein helles Lila dazu genommen. Das sah ein bisschen komisch aus, als es fertig war, deshalb habe ich unten noch eine glockige Rüsche aus einem von Nicki Epsteins Büchern angestrickt, damit die Balance zwischen den Farben stimmt. So gefällt es mir eigentlich ganz gut.

Was macht ihr, wenn euch das Garn ausgeht? Aufribbeln? Improvisieren? Oder das Teil irgendwo unfertig aufbewahren mit dem festen Vorsatz, irgendwann nochmal das passende Garn für den Rest aufzutreiben?

2 thoughts on “FO Friday #2

Share your thoughts

