Ravelry Roundup – Ankles!

Usually I have a little bit of time to spare on a Saturday and yes, I have to plead guilty, I often spend too much of it browsing through the patterns on Ravelry. I know I’m only making my bad case of castonitis worse, but what can I say… I’m a weak knitter. And, since misery loves company: why not drag you all down with me into the mire of knitting addiction?

In my Ravelry Roundups I’ll share with you a handful of patterns I’ve collected and that

  1. may either be themed or be a collection of last week’s newly published favourites
  2. are available for download (paid or free), not in print publications – that’s because not everyone may be able to get their hands on those
  3. are written in English or have an English translation – because not everyone’s comfortable with knitting from only half understood foreign language patterns.

Those patterns are not tried and tested by me – they’re just what took my fancy this week.

This time it’ll be:

Ankles!

Well… ankle socks to be precise. I like to knit (and wear) those, especially in spring and summer – they’re really, really quick knits, they’re cute and they look good with summery shoes and garments.

Let’s get started then.

Whippersnapper socks by Hunter Hammersen

Whippersnapper socks by Hunter Hammersen

This is a very unisex pattern and can be lengthened or shortened as much as you like. In the pattern picture the socks are styled in an autumn mood, but imagine them in a bright, summery color! The pattern is easy to memorize yet engaging enough to keep you interested – and the second sock is mirrored, so you might even get to finish it before second-sock-syndrome sets in…

~

Anacardia by Wollhuhn

Anacardia by Wollhuhn

This pretty little sneaker sock pattern is available for free on Wollhuhn’s page – it’s a basic sock with just that tiny little bit of lace mesh added for fun. Knit up in bright colors or self striping yarn it looks funny and quirky, while pastels or white, maybe paired with black mary janes, will make for a more romantic look.

~

And last, not least, I’ll give you two of my all time favorites in the department of ankle socks by Purl Soho. Don’t they just make you smile and go looking for you knitting needles and some bright, neon yarn?

Fishnet Anklets by Purl Soho

Fishnet Anklets by Purl Soho

Pom Pom Peds by Purl Soho

Pom Pom Peds by Purl Soho

Let’s be honest: Fishnet! Pom poms! Who wouldn’t go for that?

Have a good weekend and lots of knitting time!

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Ravelry Roundup – Ankles!

  1. Pingback: FO Friday 140 – Chicken Sox | reWOLLuzza

  2. Pingback: Ravelry Roundup – 2013 – Week 20 | reWOLLuzza

  3. Pingback: WIP Wednesday 144 – Chicken Sox! | reWOLLuzza

  4. Pingback: Double Lace Rib Socks – Free Pattern | reWOLLuzza

Share your thoughts

