In the Loop #2 – Shibui Inspiration

Last night while riding my bike on the way home from work (did I mention that I hate late shifts on Sundays?) I came up with a great idea for a pattern. I’ve been thinking about it ever since I saw the call for submissions for Shibui’s Spring/Summer 2013 Mix Collection. Their mix collections always use a combination of two or more different yarns or different colors of the same yarn held together (you can find the last collections here – there are a few free patterns for download) and next spring’s theme will be ‘succulent’.

The challenge is to express the contrast between arid, parched desert terrain (where most succulents grow) and the refreshing, vibrant and succulent qualities of citrus-plants, using innovative shaping and minimal finishing. And of course, the designs have to be highly wearable and versatile enough to be styled in at least three different ways.

Phew. It won’t surprise you when I say that finished designs didn’t start popping up immediately, clamoring to be submitted. I mulled it over time and again, found everything I came up with not good enough and decided, I’d maybe better try again next year.

But the wonderful yarns and colors as well as the two pages of very inspiring fotos really got me hooked, so in the back of my mind the whole stew of unfinished design ideas kept simmering until suddenly something new was created.

Naturally, instead of being sensible and going to sleep (I got home from work at 11.30 pm) I just HAD to go stash-diving and find yarn for the swatch and at least cast on and knit the first rows. Oh, and sketch the design, of course, in case the idea becomes shy and decides to hide again in the back of my mind.

So now I am yawning over my third cup of coffee… but it’s worth it, I think. I’ll have a few days this week to work out the finer points in the design, get the swatch done and the design sketch presentable, write up a submission and send the whole bundle off to Shibui Knits.

Would you like a sneak peek of the swatch? Of course you would! (And if not… well, I’ll post it anyway – so there!­čÖé )

Apple green and walnut brown – succulent enough?


┬áDiese Woche dreht sich bei mir alles um Shibui – nein, ihr m├╝sst mir jetzt nicht Gesundheit w├╝nschen, Shibui produziert ganz wunderbare und hochwertige Strickgarne. Und auf ihrer Homepage finden sich au├čerdem Strickmuster (einige auch kostenlos…), zu denen ich gerne auch eins von meinen eigenen gesellen w├╝rde. Das besch├Ąftigt mich jetzt schon seit einiger Zeit, seit mir der Aufruf f├╝r die neue Mix-Kollektion f├╝r das Fr├╝hjahr 2013 in die Mailbox geflattert ist.

F├╝r die Mix-Kollektionen gibt es immer ein Thema. Diesmal ‘succulent’*, f├╝r das der geneigte Designer den Gegensatz zwischen trockenem, ausged├Ârrtem W├╝stengebiet (der Heimat der Sukkulenten) und der Frische von Zitrusgew├Ąchsen zum Ausdruck bringen soll. Dabei m├╝ssen entweder mehrere unterschiedliche Garne oder mehrere Farben des gleichen Garns verarbeitet werden. Und nat├╝rlich sollen die Designs innovativ konstruiert sein, wenig ‘finishing’ brauchen und so vielseitig sein, dass man sie auf mindestens drei unterschiedliche Arten stylen kann. Puh.

Nicht ganz ├╝berraschend dr├Ąngelten sich jetzt nicht gerade fertig ausgereifte Design-Ideen um einen Platz im Gehirn… alles, was ich zu Papier gebracht habe, war mir nicht gut genug und so hatte ich schon entschieden, es vielleicht lieber n├Ąchstes Jahr zu versuchen.

Aber die edlen Garne, die tollen Farben und die inspirierenden Fotos haben mich dann doch nicht losgelassen und so kam mir gestern Nacht auf dem Weg von der Arbeit (habe ich erw├Ąhnt, dass ich Sonntags-Sp├Ątschichten hasse?) doch noch DIE Idee.

Nat├╝rlich musste ich zuhause dann erstmal meinen Garnvorrat nach dem richtigen Garn durchw├╝hlen und schonmal die ersten Reihen f├╝r ein Probest├╝ck stricken. Und nat├╝rlich eine Skizze machen, falls sich die Idee wieder irgendwo im Hinterkopf verstecken sollte. Einen kleinen Sneak Peek gibt’s oben im Foto.

So sitze ich jetzt g├Ąhnend ├╝ber meiner dritten Tasse Kaffe – aber das war es wert. Jetzt habe ich den Rest der Woche zum Testen, Skizzieren, Formulieren und kann das ganze dann an Shibui Knits schicken. Dr├╝ckt mir die Daumen, es w├Ąre echt toll, n├Ąchstes Fr├╝hjahr dabei zu sein.

*’succulent’: adj. saftig, fleischig, erfrischend; n. Sukkulente

2 thoughts on “In the Loop #2 – Shibui Inspiration

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday #2 – Eastlake again, more on Shibui and Zucchini happiness | reWOLLuzza

Share your thoughts

