WIP Wednesday #2 – Eastlake again, more on Shibui and Zucchini happiness

Happy WIP-Wednesday everyone!

Sadly I haven’t made much progress on my Eastlake Sweater, but at least managed to finish the body. I hope to get at least one sleeve done by next week. But no promises, I have deadlines for other projects looming over me left, right and center.

On the submission front I’ve had a little set-back, too. Remember my great flash of inspiration? Well – I misunderstood the submission guidelines (a little) and so it’s back to the drawing board again. I still want to make this design work, but it’s gotten a lot trickier now that I know I have to hold two strands together for the whole piece. I you’d like a glimpse into my mind on this theme, have a look at my moodboard on Pinterest.

The first zucchini flower of the year

Seems like the plants have been more productive than me. There’s been a very annoying cold-spell over the last weeks (I mean: 10°C? In June? Come on!) that almost halted plant growth in my little balcony-garden. Last year I started to harvest tomatoes around this time, now they are only just starting to flower. But well, at least they started. There’s still hope… and this morning I was greeted by the first zucchini flowers. I love zucchini flowers! It always amazes me, how big and bright they are. The look like something growing in a tropical forest, not something from temperate European climates. And to think that those huge flowers bloom for only one day just adds to the wonder.

Eggplant or alien, that’s the question

An aside on strange plants: This year I’ve gotten my hands on two purple and white striped eggplant seedlings – I’m growing those for the first time and they look quite different from the regular eggplants I’ve had over the last years. There are huge thorns growing from twigs and  leaves and the buds have thorns, too. They look like they could star in a Star Trek episode as aggressive alien plant-life.

That’s it from me for today! Hope you had a more productive week than I did…


Fröhlichen WIP-Wednesday zusammen!

So richtig viel Fortschritte habe ich beim Eastlake Pullover leider nicht gemacht – immerhin ist der Körper fertig gestrickt und muss nur noch vernäht werden. Nächste Woche werde ich hoffentlich zumindest einen Ärmel fertig haben – aber ich kann nichts versprechen. Deadlines für andere Projekte drängen…

Auch bei den Entwürfen habe ich einen mehr oder weniger großen Rückschlag erlitten. Ich hatte ja über meinen Geistesblitz für die Shibui Mix Kollektion berichtet. Tja, leider hatte ich die Vorgaben etwas missverstanden und muss zurück ans Reißbrett. Die Idee gefällt mir immer noch, aber es wird deutlich schwieriger, sie umzusetzen, wenn ich für das ganze Projekt mindestens zwei Fäden zusammen benutzen muss. Falls es Euch interessiert, könnt Ihr ja mal einen Blick auf mein Moodboard bei Pinterest werfen – das sind die Inspirationen, die ich mir aus dem Netz zusammengesucht habe.

Anscheinend waren die Pflanzen diese Woche produktiver als ich. Trotz der ausgesprochen unerfreulichen Kälte (10 Grad? Im Juni? Hallo?!) habe ich heute morgen in meinem kleinen Balkongarten die erste Zucchiniblüte entdeckt. Endlich! Jedes Jahr bin ich wieder davon fasziniert, dass in unserem mitteleuropäischen Klima solche Blüten entstehen, die ich eher im tropischen Regenwald vermuten würde…

Zum Thema ‘seltsame Pflanzen’ noch ein kleines Extra: Dieses Jahr habe ich das erste Mal lila-weiß gestreifte Auberginen gepflanzt. Die sehen immer mehr so aus, als könnten sie eine Nebenrolle als aggressive pflanzliche Aliens in einer Star-Trek Folge übernehmen: Überall wachsen ihnen Dornen und Stacheln – nicht nur auf Zweigen und Blättern, sonder selbst die Blütenknospen sehen ziemlich wehrhaft aus. Ich werde im Auge behalten, ob sie irgendwann anfangen sich zu bewegen oder Geräusche von sich zu geben.

9 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday #2 – Eastlake again, more on Shibui and Zucchini happiness

  1. Pingback: In the Loop #3… | reWOLLuzza

  2. Wenigstens sehen Deine Pflanzen nicht so gerupft aus, wie meine. In Berlin ist es zu den suboptimalen Temperaturen auch noch verdammt windig die letzten Wochen!

    • Zur Zeit bibbere ich bei jedem Schauer, weil immer wieder Hagel dazwischen ist. Vor zwei Jahren hat es mir die komplette Ernte verhagelt, da waren nur noch die Blattrippen übrig…
      Die Temperaturen finde ich langsam übrigens nicht mehr suboptimal, sondern subarktisch🙂

  3. Brrr. I hope the temperatures in your part of the world start to warm up! I’m very jealous of your lovely vegetable garden. The biggest downside to living in Chicago, is my complete lack of private green space.

    • It’s the first flat with a balcony I’ve lived in since I moved away from home… no balconies in Chicago, then? But, on the plus side: You’re living in Chicago, I live in a nice but rather boring middle-town…

Share your thoughts

