WIP Wednesday #4 – Compulsive knitting

Happy WIP-Wednesday everyone!

Looking around my piles of knitting, trying to decide which ones can be counted as WIPs, which ones are swatches and which are probably not going to be worked on for the next months I realised (not for the first time) I really need to focus more.

Progress so far

Well, I’ll focus on one project today, at least. Not surprisingly it is my current obsession and again (sorry, sorry, sorry) sort of a stealth project. But I’ll be able to show you a few pictures and talk about it a little. It’s an idea I’ve been wanting to try out for quite some time but didn’t quite know how to realise in knitting. But now I finally think I have found a way to make it work.  Mind you, I think I found a way. I’m not certain it will work, so I’ll actually have to knit a full-sized front and back half of the top and sew them together to see if it works out or if this is complete BS. That’s making me a little nervous, and when I get anxious about a project, I tend to knit compulsively and a lot faster than normal. It’s the same when I’m uncertain if I have enough yarn to finish. Maybe knitting faster uses up less and makes things work out better?

Texture

If it all works out it will be a sleeveless top with a few pleats. The main focus is on the different textures of stockinette and seed (or moss, depending where you come from) stitch.

I love seed stitch! The way light and shadow add depth to the texture is fantastic and it also has a great ‘feel’ to it. And once I learned the Scandinavian way of purling it’s also a real pleasure to knit!

Helge sleeping in the shade

I’ve had an hour yesterday to sit outside with my knitting and a cup of coffee and enjoy the finally arriving summer. Big, bad Lilli-cat thought it too warm and stayed inside, but Helge (as always) roasted his brain in the full sun for a while and then sought the shade under the zucchini leaves. He’s never happy unless he can at least have an eye on me. Preferably sleeping on my lap, of course, but it’s been way too warm for that…

That’s it from me for today. If you want to see more knitting, hop over to Tami’s Amis and take a peek at all the other WIP’s listed there – maybe you’ll find your next obsession among them…

Have a great day and keep knitting!


Fröhlichen WIP-Wednesday zusammen!

Als ich mich für den heutigen Beitrag durch die diversen Haufen von angefangenen Strickarbeiten gekämpft und sie sortiert habe – echte WIP, Probestücke und Arbeiten, an denen ich in den nächsten Monaten wohl kaum weiterstricken werde – wurde mir (mal wieder) klar, dass ich mich wirklich auf wenige Projekte gleichzeitig beschränken sollte.

Zumindest heute werde ich mich also auf eins beschränken – nicht allzu überraschend das Stück, von dem ich momentan geradezu besessen bin…

Die Idee dazu spukt mir schon länger im Kopf herum, nur wie ich sie in Maschen umsetzen sollte, war mir einfach nicht klar. Jetzt habe ich zumindest eine Vorstellung wie es klappen könnte – aber leider noch keine Ahnung, ob das so wirklich klappt oder ob ich mir da totalen Blödsinn überlegt habe.  Daher muss ich tatsächlich das komplette Top auf gut Glück stricken und zusammennähen bevor ich sagen kann, ob meine Idee funktioniert.

Das macht mich ein bisschen nervös, was bei mir zu zwanghaftem Viel- und Schnellstricken führt. Wenn ich nicht sicher bin, ob das Garn reicht, geht es mir genauso – als ob das irgendetwas helfen würde!

Wenn denn alles klappt, wird es ein ärmelloses Top mit einigen Kellerfalten und dem Hauptaugenmerk auf der unterschiedlichen Textur von Flächen in glatt rechts und Perlmuster. Ich liebe Perlmuster – es fällt gut, fühlt sich toll an und das Spiel von Licht und Schatten auf der Oberfläche ist einfach fantastisch. Und seit ich die skandinavische Methode für linke Maschen gelernt habe, macht es auch noch Spaß zu stricken!

Gestern konnte ich den endlich angekommenen Sommer für ein Stündchen auf dem Balkon genießen – mit Strickzeug und einer Tasse Kaffee natürlich. Die große, böse Lillikatze fand es zu heiß und ist drinnen geblieben, aber Helge hat sich – wie immer – erstmal in der prallen Sonne das Gehirn rösten lassen und sich dann unter den Zucchiniblättern in den Schatten gelegt. Am liebsten hätte er natürlich auf meinem Schoß gelegen, aber dazu war es wirklich viel zu warm…

Das war’s von mir für heute. Wenn ihr noch nicht genug habt, schaut bei Tami’s Amis rein, da gibt es noch viele, viele WIP mehr zu sehen.
Habt einen schönen Tag – und immer schön weiterstricken!

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday #4 – Compulsive knitting

  1. Pingback: WIP Wedn… wait, it’s Thursday already! | reWOLLuzza

Share your thoughts

