Look what I found – Color Inspirations

Hey, another (ir)regular feature for the blog!

There’s so much funny, inspirational, useful knitting stuff out there – I thought I’d use Tuesdays to share my latest finds with you.

I stumbled over this picture on Pinterest last night. A few clicks later I found myself on this great website with literally hundreds of shade-cards, each one presented with a wonderful picture.

It’s a fantastic inspiration for any kind of colorwork – I found color combinations I’d never have thought of as harmonious and  never would have tried out.

As an added feature you can search for palettes that fit to a color you specify. Maybe you want to knit a colorwork hat (or paint your kitchen – but this IS a knitting blog) and already have decided you’d like your main color to be that lovely muted purple shade you saw in the last Rowan collection (or whatever). There’s a little gadget that allows you to find the exact right shade by adding or subtracting red, green and blue. Once you’re finished, one click brings you a selection of palettes using that same color. Neat, isn’t it?

To stay with my example, I chose a muted purple. Look what I got:

The first (Autumn Green) is about what I’d expect – fall colours, all rather muted and not too bright. In the second palette you have the same muted purple in a much fresher, brighter combination – it would totally change the feel of the finished piece to something more spring-like.
I wouldn’t have thought of combining it with salmon pink and that particular shade of grey (I don’t even know how to call it…). But I think it totally works!
There were more palettes, but this should do it.

Now, if you’re the fickle type (like me) by now you’d probably be not so sure anymore, if you shouldn’t better change from purple to that funny grey shade and see what will look good with that…
No problemo, just click on the color and, voila! All palettes using  that shade instantly delivered to your computer screen.

I hope you find this as useful as I do. Have fun trying out all the colors and let me know if you found something spectacular!


Hey, ein weiteres (un)regelmäßiges Feature für mein Blog!

Da draußen gibt es so viele lustige, inspirierende, nützliche Dinge für StrickerInnen – ich dachte mir, da könnte ich doch Dienstags meine neuesten Funde mit euch teilen.

Über Pinterest bin ich auf diese großartige Website gestoßen, auf der man hunderte von Farbpaletten finden kann, die alle mit tollen Fotos präsentiert werden. Für mich eine unglaubliche Hilfe bei der Auswahl von Farben für mehrfarbiges Stricken (Fair-Isle, irgendjemand?), für die Nicht-Stricker unter uns eher für z.B. Anstrich und Wohnungseinrichtung…

Ich bin schon auf einige Farbkombinationen gestoßen, von denen ich nie gedacht hätte, dass sie so toll zusammen passen.
Wenn man schon eine bestimmte Farbe im Kopf hat, kann man die über Regler einstellen und sich Paletten anzeigen lassen, die diese Farbe enthalten. Gefällt einem eine andere Farbe aus einer dieser Paletten besser, einfach draufklicken und man bekommt die passenden Farbkarten dazu angezeigt.

Ich bin, wie man vielleicht herauslesen kann, total begeistert von der Seite und werde sicher noch oft darauf zurückgreifen…

Hoffentlich findet ihr sie genauso nützlich, wie ich und habt Spaß beim Stöbern! Lasst mich wissen, wenn ihr eine besonders spektakuläre Kombination gefunden habt, ich bin noch lange nicht durch alle Fotos durch.

One thought on “Look what I found – Color Inspirations

  1. That sounds like a very useful tool. Sometimes I pick up a hank of yarn I like and then I want to combine it with something else…but I am flummoxed by all the choices. A tool like this would help give my decisions some structure.

Share your thoughts

