In the Loop – Socks everywhere!

Hey everyone, I hope you all had a great weekend!

I’m quite happy myself – on Saturday I finally finished knitting the samples for the Seditious Stocking design and can send them on their way tomorrow. Yay! (After knitting the same design 3 times in a row it get’s a little boring…) Good thing about deadlines and having signed contracts: No chance of falling victim to the dreaded Second-Sock-Syndrome. If you don’t know what that is – count yourself lucky. Don’t look it up, you might get infected!🙂

And, as if I hadn’t been knitting enough socks already, I’m now frantically knitting a pair of socks for my father’s birthday. He’ll be on a motorbike tour in the US and I jumbled dates – I thought I had more time and now have to knit like crazy to be finished in time so he can take his presents with him. Yikes! Why must he have such large feet?

What else this week? There are a few proposals due that I’ll have to finish and send off. One I’m particularly fond of is a cape with a wide lace border I’ll be submitting for the next Jane Austen Knits. I have to tweak the shaping a bit before it’s completely ready, though – and then comes the hard part. Waiting. Will my baby be good enough?!?

Good news: I’ve got another design accepted! A pair of gloves for the January edition of UK magazine Knit Now. It’s a simple, yet fun design and I’m looking forward to knitting it in the yarn, editor Kate Heppell has chosen for me – I’ll get the first shipment of the new 4-ply version of Manos del Uruguay’s Silk Blend! Pure luxury! Have to wait ’til the end of month before it’ll be here and will have to do some fast knitting then. Even the extended deadline doesn’t allow for tardiness (probably a good thing…).

So you see, a lot going on and a lot to do… I Wish you all a good week. Now excuse me, please, while I go… sock knitting! Aaaaaaahhh!


Hallo zusammen – ich hoffe, ihr hatte ein groĂźartiges Wochenende!

Ich bin ganz zufrieden: Am Samstag habe ich endlich den zweiten Strumpf fĂĽr das Seditious Stocking Design fertig gestrickt (und alle Enden verstopft), sodass ich sie morgen auf den Weg nach Amerika schicken kann. Das Gute an Deadlines und unterschriebenen Verträgen ist, dass man keine Chance hat, dem gefĂĽrchteten Zweite-Socke-Syndrom zum Opfer zu fallen. Falls ihr nicht wisst, was das ist – schätzt euch glĂĽcklich und schlagt es nicht nach, es könnte ansteckend sein!🙂

Und als ob ich nicht schon genug Socken gestrickt hätte, muss ich in den nächsten Tagen im Akkord für den Geburtstag meines Vaters stricken. Ich habe Termine verwechselt und dachte, ich hätte mehr Zeit, bevor er für seine Motorradtour in den USA aufbricht. Hoffentlich kriege ich sie noch rechtzeitig auf die Post, damit er seine Geschenke mitnehmen kann! Verflixt, warum hat er nur so große Füße?

Ansonsten sind diese Woche einige Design-Vorschläge fällig, die ich noch fertigstellen und abschicken muss. Eines liegt mir besonders am Herzen: Ein Cape mit extrabreiter SpitzenbordĂĽre fĂĽr das nächste Jane Austen Knits. Ich muss noch etwas daran herumfeilen, bevor ich ganz zufrieden bin – und dann kommt der unangenehme Teil: Warten! Wird mein Baby gut genug sein?!?

Noch eine gute Neuigkeit: Ein Design ist fĂĽr die Januar-Ausgabe der Knit Now (englisches Strickmagazin) angenommen worden! Und fĂĽr die Fotoexemplare hat mir die Herausgeberein Kate Heppell das neue Silk Blend Garn in Sockenwollstärke von Manos del Uruguay besorgt. Der pure Luxus! Es kommt erst Ende September auf den Markt – das bedeutet mal wieder hektisches Stricken fĂĽr mich, denn selbst die verlängerte Deadline lässt dann nicht mehr viel Spielraum (ist vielleicht auch nicht schlecht…).

Wie ihr seht: Eine Menge los und viel zu tun… Ich wĂĽnsche euch allen eine gute Woche. Jetzt entschuldigt mich bitte, ich muss… Socken stricken! Aaaaaaahhhhh!

2 thoughts on “In the Loop – Socks everywhere!

Share your thoughts

