WIP Wednesday – Eastlake Trouble

Happy WIP-Wednesday everyone!

I need an opinion today (or several of them) about the Eastlake sweater. I’m done (sort of, it needs finishing and washing still) but I’m debating if I should rip out the neckline and do that over. It’s far narrower than the original and I’m not sure I like it that way.

Ok, the original from the pattern book looks like this:

See the deep, slightly square neckline? It’s one of the designs features that attracted me in the first place.

And this is my version of it (please excuse the crappy self-portrait style foto):

The neckline is smaller and quite round. I’m really not too happy with it. The problem is: I followed the instructions for this to the letter and would have to use trial and error to change it. Is it bad enough to start the whole neckline over again? Undoing seams, ripping back facing, front and back and try to fiddle my way to some solution (argh!). Or should I just accept that it looks different, but still ok somehow? Help!

11 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – Eastlake Trouble

  1. I have also started this sweater and I too chose it for the neckline. Only through your blog post I realized that it is not square as I assumed. Probably the perspective of the photo at the original design page makes it look so nicely square *sigh*
    Thanks for the warning! I will recalculate the neckline to make it square.

  2. Thanks to everyone for your input! It has really helped me to come to (sort of) a decision… I’ll contact the designer via her Ravelry group to hear if she’s got any tips on this. If she has an idea for a solution, I’ll rip and knit again. If not, I’ll try wearing it a few times (and let my mamma have a look – yes, I’m a mommy’s girl🙂 ) and see if I get used to it or am still not happy.
    I’ll let you know how it turns out…
    Thanks again for helping me think!

  3. I understand how you feel…it’s annoying when it doesn’t turn out the way it’s supposed to. I personally think your version looks fine, but seeing that you made the sweater for the interesting neckline, my opinion is to undo and redo. I suggest this ‘cos I have a feeling that your version of the neckline is going to bug you if you don’t rectify it….

  4. I think it looks fine (although not like the sample photo), but if it’s going to bother you, you should rip and reknit. Better to spend a couple hours redoing the neckline than to have spent all those hours on the whole sweater only to have it sit in a drawer, unworn.

  5. I’m not sure that you’ll get the squareness without some serious blocking or maybe some reinforcement? I’d be unhappy with that result too based on liking the original neckline. I’d consider ripping back and knitting the neckline instructions for a size or two up. And then maybe doing the final neckline with the yarn held doubled to make it firmer?

  6. Nah, I agree with you that I like the square neckline. That’s one of the most interesting things about this sweater. Without it, it’s just not as interesting. Still very nice, but lacking some edginess.

  7. I don’t think you should undo this. It looks really beautiful. I’m not sure how you could go about accomplishing the squared element of the neckline, but I bet you could very easily block some hang into the neck.

  8. I would echo what some of the previous posters have already said in terms of giving it a chance. That being said if it isn’t something that you see yourself wearing, or you have to force yourself to wear it then I would rip back (after consulting the designer, Ravelry project page, or the Errata) from experience if you aren’t happy with it now you may never wear it, or at least not nearly as often as you would have liked. Best of luck.

  9. Can the designer provide some guidance? It seems odd that you would knit it according to the instructions and have it turn out so differently.

  10. I think it looks lovely and I never would have known the neck was different from the pattern otherwise. I guess it’s up to you if you can live with it like that! Either way, enjoy your sweater!🙂

  11. I think it looks fine, and it doesn’t look too small to me, but it’s a bit hard to see with the half profile shot. While it does seem to be a bit rounder than in the pattern photo, it’s still a lovely sweater! If you like the fit otherwise, maybe just wear it a couple of times and see how you feel about it? You can still rip it out later, but I’d give it a chance as is.

Share your thoughts

