Je ne suis pas un jupon!

“Je ne suis pas un jupon!” (“I’m not a petticoat!”) is the working title for this little beauty:

Is it a zebra? Is it a petticoat? No, it’s a knitting pattern!

It’s a skirt pattern I’m working on at the moment – I’m quite happy with it so far. It’s an easy, fun knit and so far it seems like it’s going to look spectacular (if I say so myself).

The title? Well, when I was trolling the textile section of the Metropolitan Museum’s online exhibition I stumbled upon a French, striped silk petticoat from the 1890’s. I instantly fell in love with it – it looked so high-fashion and modern, compared with the frilly, lacy, pink confections around it. If I’m able to translate that into a modernized, wearable adaption for knitting, I’ll be quite, quite happy🙂

Where do you get your inspiration? Do you only knit from patterns or create them yourselves? Do you check out Fashion Week coverage, magazines or your favorite brands in shops? Do you use museums, antique fabrics or vintage clothing for inspiration?

Share your thoughts

