Debriefing: Marching Band Gloves

de·brief

[/diˈbrif/]
verb (used with object)

  1. to interrogate (a soldier, astronaut, diplomat, etc.) on return from a mission in order to assess the conduct and results of the mission.
  2. to question formally and systematically in order to obtain useful intelligence or information.

 (Definition from: Dictionary.com)

While I’m neither a soldier nor a diplomat (not to mention an astronaut) I feel it might still be useful for both aspiring knitwear designers and myself to take a good look at past (sub)missions – pun intended – and find out what’s been done good and where there’s, ahem, room for improvement.

I’ve borrowed this format from Jennifer at Tinking Turtle Designs, who’s kindly agreed to let me use her idea. You should hop over to her site – not only has she her own first submission briefing to share; you could also check out a few very nice crochet and knitting patterns and designer interviews. Also, there’s cats.🙂

So, without further ado, I give you the first debriefing. This proposal was submitted for the winter 12/13 issues of Knit Now and the Marching Band Gloves were published in issue 18.
Marching Band Debriefing

Things Done Well

  • I still really like the different colored pictures of the finished samples. They give a good impression of the style I wanted to achieve. This has been my first venture into color overlays with Gimp and while I’d do it differently now, it certainly served its purpose.
  • Suggested yarn qualities instead of asking for a certain brand. I still prefer to do it that way if I’m not submitting to a yarn company, because that leaves the publisher enough room to pick the best option they can get yarn support for. And it shows that I have thought out what kind of fabric I want to produce and which qualities a yarn should have to achieve this goal.
  • I’ve given the sizing range. It makes quite a different if you’re submitting a „one size“, a „Size small and large“ or a „Size range from 32”-52” with instructions for modifications in length“. It’s good to let the publisher know what they can expect to get.
  • It meets all requirements specified in the call for submissions – contact info on every page, focus on styling, sketch and swatches, flexibility in yarn choices, description of the basic construction.

Could Have Been Better

  • The layout is far from professional. I’ve changed that since then, but there’s still room for improvement, I’m afraid.
  • The sketch as a sketch wasn’t too bad, but then I went and took a photo of it in bad lighting and used that as base for the digital rework. That’s why it turned out so dark with a grey background. Oh, and since I was still fumbling my way through digital editing, the pink bits look like I took a text marker to them. Which I didn’t.

What Have I Been Thinking?

  • The design outline is, well, abysmal. It’s far too wordy and the first sentences still make me cringe when I read them over. I bet Kate and the team at Knit Now had a good laugh at that. Luckily they still chose the design (probably because of the pics, see above).

I’ll add more of these debriefings whenever a design is finally out in the open and all that “top-secret”, “hush-hush”, “don’t show any pictures” is over and done with.

5 thoughts on “Debriefing: Marching Band Gloves

  1. Knit Now is spelled incorrectly in your title on the submission! It is nice to know that when things like that slip by that it doesn’t prevent a good design from being accepted.

    • It is?!
      It is!!
      Now it’s an even more embarrassing piece of work – especially since I didn’t even catch the mistake this time around. (And you’re right, it’s nice to see that a huge blunder like this doesn’t have to be the end of things.)
      Thanks again to Kate who chose to ignore all those missteps and still accept the design!

Share your thoughts

