Holla Knits Blog Tour and Giveaway: How to wear a Nachtfalter?

HKSpringKPVY-1024x1024

Welcome, everyone, to today’s stop of the Holla Knits blog tour! Allyson has put together a fantastic collection this spring – I for sure will be casting on my own Lady Bat (upper left) as soon as I manage to decide if I’d rather go for a neutral greyish pink (pinkish grey?) or something more bold.

It’s the first time I participate in the tour, so I had a hard time deciding what to post today… a review of the collection or my pattern? Everything about that is in the Holla Knits blog already. Insights into my design process? Er. I’m afraid I don’t quite remember how I came up with Nachtfalter. Gloating about how great it is to be part of a Holla Knits collection (it is, you know)? Hardly interesting.

Recently I discovered Polyvore and promptly reverted to a childhood stage of dressing up dolls. I spent far too much time there, putting together style sets. So why not show you two ways I’d style Nachtfalter?

1. Nachtfalter on the Beach

Nachtfalter on the beach
The color blocked version just asks to be worn casually and sporty. I’d wear it over some red or aqua bikini top and style it with capris, teal  flip-flops and a big straw beach bag to hold my books, knitting and towels while I head out for a day on the beach.

2. Nachtfalter goes to Town

Nachtfalter goes to town

Now, the solid colored Nachtfalter (knitted in masi|knits Bottoms Up) is a whole different kind of butterfly! The moment I saw the gorgeous color I knew: This had to be a statement piece, styled with bold contrasting purple accessories and a flirty, black brocade skirt for a night on the town, drinking fancy cocktails and having far too much fun.

Nachtfalter Pattern Giveaway

Want this pattern? Just post a comment below and tell me how you would style your Nachtfalter. Tweet it or pin it (and leave another comment for each way you share this giveaway) for additional entries. I’ll choose a winner one week from today. And if you’re a Holla Knits subscriber (or want to become one) you also have the chance to win some of the yarn for this pattern – just head over to the Holla Knits Blog and be sure to leave a comment as well.

And in the meantime check out the rest of the tour stops:

April 16 – The Sweatshop of Love
April 17 – Canary Knits
April 18 – Yarn Hollow
April 19 – Under the Red Umbrella

April 23 – Emma Welford Designs
April 24 – Pink Brutus Knits
April 25 – Rewolluzza
April 26 – Knits in Class

April 29 – WEBS Yarn Store Blog
May 1 – Masi Knits
May 3 – Unplanned Peacock

17 thoughts on “Holla Knits Blog Tour and Giveaway: How to wear a Nachtfalter?

  1. Pingback: Nachtfalter Summer Knit-a-Long–Week 1 Progress | engineeredcreations

  2. Pingback: Nachtfalter Summer Knit-a-Long | engineeredcreations

  3. Pingback: Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a winner! | reWOLLuzza

  4. I love Nachtfalter in the yellow-greenish version, too and I’d definately wear it with my black shorts and pastel green tights. Underneath I’d wear a just light grey tank top. Don’t know about the shoes though …

  5. I love the first pattern, Lady Bat. I would wear it with a tank underneath. I get very overheated in the summer and this would be perfect as it is light and breezy.

  6. Love how you styled it with the lime green Caipirinha color. I am trying to decide right now which color I want to make this in. I am leaning towards our Cosmopolitan which is a soft light red. If I go that route, I am thinking I will wear it with dressy black capris and strappy sandals.

  7. I would style with dark jeggings, open-toe wedges, and bangles or a cuff. I love the bold green color of the test knit!

  8. Love this pattern! Such a beautiful stitch! I would probably style it with black capris and chunky heels, and loads of bracelets!

  9. This looks like an interesting project to make. I would probably go for the solid color version. Maybe in dark green or dark red. With a nice pair of jeans and some high heels.
    The lady bat pattern is really nice as well. I have been looking for something like that.🙂

  10. I really like this knit and because I normally just wear blue jeans and t-shirts, I would combine the Nachtfalter with just that: a blue jeans, a black tank top, some sneakers and the Nachtfalter in a bright colour (I prefer green or blue but red might also work). This would then be my everyday favourite to wear for work.

  11. Your styling of the chartreuse Nachtflater knocked my socks off. I love the colors together and the fun styling elements. I think I would knit it up in a bold red color and wear it over a simple black dress with some strappy sandals for an easy look.

  12. You know, in cotton that looks like it would make a good yoga cover up. I think that’s how I might wear it.

  13. I am so loving your green and purple outfit that I can hardly come up with my own idea! I might change it up by making it more comfy (for me at least) with flats or sandals as the shoe and a longer black shirt, maybe a flowy summer one. A purple tank underneath that’s bright enough to peak through the green lace would finish it nicely.

  14. As spring has finally made its appearance on the British shores, I’d style it with a flowery knee-length airy skirt and a choice of either colourful ballerinas or some light open sandals. I love the Nachtfalter in the green-yellow-ish bright shade🙂

Share your thoughts

