Ravelry Roundup – Stripes!

Usually I have a little bit of time to spare on a Saturday and yes, I have to plead guilty, I often spend too much of it browsing through the patterns on Ravelry. I know I’m only making my bad case of castonitis worse, but what can I say… I’m a weak knitter. And, since misery loves company: why not drag you all down with me into the mire of knitting addiction?

In my Ravelry Roundups I’ll share with you a handful of patterns I’ve collected and that

  1. may either be themed or be a collection of last week’s newly published favourites
  2. are available for download (paid or free), not in print publications – that’s because not everyone may be able to get their hands on those
  3. are written in English or have an English translation – again because not everyone’s comfortable with knitting from only half understood foreign language patterns.

Those patterns are not tried and tested by me – they’re just what took my fancy this week.

This time it’ll be:

Stripes!

I love stripes. It’s an incredibly versatile pattern: Stripes can be playful or severely geometric. Elegant or fun. Simple or intricate.

Stripes in every direction - who wouldn't love it?

Rockefeller – by Stephen West

Stripes in every direction – who wouldn’t love it? By now 2780 Ravellers agree that this is a fabulous pattern and have knit their own versions.

~

Color Affection by Veera Välimäki

Color Affection by Veera Välimäki

I can’t leave that one out – it’s one of the most popular patterns on Ravelry. And I’d say rightly so! I’ve already bought the yarn and will start this one in the near future.

~

Two-Color Gradation Fingerless Gloves by Elizabeth Seidle

Two-Color Gradation Fingerless Gloves by Elizabeth Seidle

This is a great use of stripes for blending two colors – simple, yet effectual. Those fingerless gloves are on my “to-knit-list” as well (I’m a sucker for fingerless gloves…)

~

Elfe by Astrid Schramm

Elfe by Astrid Schramm

Here’s another take on the color-blending capacities of stripes – this looks great in tonal versions (as pictured) as well as with starkly contrasting ones.

~

Satsuma Stripes by Sharon Matarazzo

Satsuma Stripes by Sharon Matarazzo

Simplicity and elegance – stripes at their best.

~

Spring Lines by La Maison Rililie

Spring Lines by La Maison Rililie

Perfectly fun striping pattern and wonderful spring colors! This looks great in a variety of colorways as you can see from the project pages.

More stripes on this Pinterest board!

What are your favourite stripe patterns? Do you plan do knit any of these? Share the stripes!

8 thoughts on “Ravelry Roundup – Stripes!

  1. Pingback: Ravelry Roundup – 2013 – Week 20 | reWOLLuzza

  2. Pingback: Ravelry Roundup – Mayday! | reWOLLuzza

    • It definitely is! Though I’ll have a hard time deciding between my three sweater picks – all stripey, all lovely, all different. Ah, choices, choices…

Share your thoughts

