Ravelry Roundup – Mayday!

Usually I have a little bit of time to spare on a Saturday and yes, I have to plead guilty, I often spend too much of it browsing through the patterns on Ravelry. I know I’m only making my bad case of castonitis worse, but what can I say… I’m a weak knitter. And, since misery loves company: why not drag you all down with me into the mire of knitting addiction?

In my Ravelry Roundups I’ll share with you a handful of patterns I’ve collected and that

  1. may either be themed or be a collection of last week’s newly published favourites
  2. are available for download (paid or free), not in print publications – that’s because not everyone may be able to get their hands on those
  3. are written in English or have an English translation – because not everyone’s comfortable with knitting from only half understood foreign language patterns.

Those patterns are not tried and tested by me – they’re just what took my fancy this week.

This time it’ll be:

Mayday!

In honor of this week’s holiday I present you my 3 favourites of the knitting patterns added on the first of May.

Catkin Sweater by Kate Davies

Catkin Sweater by Kate Davies

I like the deep sccop neck, the muted color and subtle pattern of this sweater – it’s a perfect piece for cool spring days.

~

Elka Park by Heather Dixon

Elka Park by Heather Dixon

And as we move further into summer – doesn’t this make you think of long summer days, the scent of parched grassland and the sound of crickets all around you?

~

Ghazal Cowl by Kat Bukspan

Ghazal Cowl by Kat Bukspan

And, last but not least, this striking cowl. Not really a summer accessory, but I couldn’t skip that. I’m not a big fan of variegated yarns because of pooling issues and this cowl’s stitch pattern neatly break up blocks of color and blend stark contrasting ones. I think I’ll knit that for next fall as soon as I get my hands on a suitable yarn.

Anything you like? Or did you already find your perfect Mayday pattern?

Enhanced by Zemanta

Share your thoughts

