WIP Wednesday 144 – Chicken Sox!

Happy WIP-Wednesday everyone!

Writing about ankle socks last Sunday apparently put a fixed idea into my head – I immediately cast on a pair after I finished writing up the Lace Rib sock pattern.

I really, really liked the mesh inserts from the “Anarcadia” anklets by Wollhuhn. The pattern was written either for much lighter yarn or much wider feet than mine – I had to go down 12 stitches to get a good fit. But no way I’d miss out on knitting them in this specific yarn! It’s Nomade from Wollfaktor in a gorgeous purple colorway (that I still can’t bring my camera to photograph properly…).

Also: It’s a cuff-down pattern, and by now I’ve been firmly converted to the toe-up way of making socks. (My friend Steffi, who’s responsible for this, will probably go “I told you so…” at this very moment.🙂 ) Thus another modification was called for.

There’s a cable pattern on the back of the (very short) leg I’ll have to modify as well, because I haven’t got enough stitches for the given pattern.

All in all these socks will look a lot like Wollhuhn’s, but will have been worked quite a bit differently.

Oh, the name… “Wollhuhn” is German for Wool-Chick(en), so I thought I’d reflect that in naming my project…

As always, I’m joining up with the knitting crowd gathered at Tami’s Amis for WIP Wednesdays… why don’t you join us?

Enhanced by Zemanta

6 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday 144 – Chicken Sox!

  1. Pingback: FO Friday 140 – Chicken Sox | reWOLLuzza

  2. Pingback: Whipped-Stitch Witchery

Share your thoughts

