One of those days…

So, a few days ago I had my free day. (Since I usually work Saturdays and Sundays, my “weekend” is in the middle of the week.) And since I planned on staying home and knitting, I decided to treat my hair to some beauty treatment. Which encompasses mixing myself a conditioner from non-skimmed yoghurt, olive oil and honey and rubbing the resulting sludge into my waist length hair.

So there I am, half prone over the shower basin and my hair half full with yoghurty slime, when: Dingdong! The door bell.

Great! At that time of day it can only be the postman, so I hasten to get the stuff from my hands, wrestle the hair out of the way and get the door. And in this case that means: Buzzing the postman in and running down 5 storeys, because they usually refuse to come up that far and rather leave parcels on top of the letter boxes for anyone to take. But no. This isn’t the regular post, it’s Hermes. So I meet up with the Hermes guy somewhere between top floor and ground floor to sign for the delivery, dressed in a bathrobe and with a gnarly, yoghurt covered, giant hair ball precariously balanced on top of my head… (Was I embarrassed? You bet!)

Anyhoo, at least there’s yarn in it for me. So up I march again, cover the remainder of my hair and head with yoghurt and open the parcel. Ooooh, Rowan! Wait. I didn’t order anything from Rowan. Nor was that part of any yarn support I expected. And there’s a note saying that one color isn’t in stock and will be sent some time later…

Uh oh.

By the time I figure out that it probably is meant to be a replacement for some other yarn I was supposed to use for a design and which color is supposed to be which, the sludge in my hair has hardened to a flakey crust and needs to get out. Immediately.

Off to the shower I go, soaking dried yoghurt to get it out of the hair when… Dingdong! Repeat above. Hopping out of the shower and receiving another parcel from another guy, still dressed in bathrobe, again with a dripping, slimy, sort of disgusting bun on my head. Le sigh. It seems, it’s yarn support day at Chez Rewolluzza. Well, at least there’s more yarn!

Fast forward: yoghurt out, hair in towel, finally dressed, I unpack the second parcel. Mhhhm, Artesano and Manos del Uruguay. Me likey! But, wait – there are two skeins of a color I only need one of. And two colors I need are missing. Meh.

After I got this sorted out, I really needed a coffee and chocolate. One of those days…

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

11 thoughts on “One of those days…

  1. Ha! Nightmare morning! Hopefully it’ll make you feel better to know that this happens to us all (minus the youghurt – my hair’s cropped lol). Mail order is so handy until it goes wrong isn’t it – hope you get everything sorted asap x

  2. I’m sure delivery people know when you’re in the middle of doing something you can’t really leave and purposely then knock on the door! I’d have reacted with chocolate too!

    • Now I imagine delivery agencies with NASA like control rooms, huge screens flashing and alarms sounding whenever someone expecting a delivery is stepping into the bathroom or up to their elbows in bread dough…

  3. i sympathise with you for such start of the day ♡
    i know that feeling when the bell rings right at some most inconvenient time!
    by the way, i’m myself just having some treatment on my hair… let me go and rinse it off before the postman comes!
    xx

Share your thoughts

