WIP Wednesday 161 – Socks and more Secrets!

So, the one top-secret design WIP is on hold for now, until I’ve received the missing color. Time to move on, no time to waste.

Will I be able to show you more pics of this one? No, of course not. Why do you even ask? Sorry, it’ll keep that way for at least 3 weeks more (if I’m really, really quick).

Generic toe craftily obscuring the finished sock in the background...

Generic stockinette stitch sole  craftily obscuring the finished sock in the background…

This is one of three designs I’m currently preparing for upcoming issues of Knit Now magazine. It’s obviously a sock. That much I can tell. What else?

  • It’s toe-up
  • It has a short-row heel
  • It does NOT feature w&t’s
  • It’s rather on the bulky side (obviously)

I’m knitting with Manos del Uruguay Wool Clasica.

All in all I like this yarn: It’s singles (which I asked for), it’s pure wool (which I generally like) and it’s surprisingly soft. There’s one little fly in the ointment: Parts of it are severely overtwisted and almost as thin as sewing thread, while others are thick and fluffy without any twist at all. This can of course happen in handspun yarn, and I’d definitely use this yarn again, but it can probably shine and show off its qualities better in a larger, all stockinette project. I’d love to try one of their beautiful variegated colourways for a simple stockinette cowl or scarf.

As always, I’m joining up with the knitting crowd gathered at Tami’s Amis for WIP Wednesdays… why not go and pay a visit?

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday 161 – Socks and more Secrets!

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday 164 – In which I knit an opera | reWOLLuzza

Share your thoughts

