In which I do not knit, but jam

I’ve been awfully quit during the last week – there’s another yarn crisis and somehow I felt like I’ve only whining and complaining here for the past month and didn’t want to add another wail to the list. But my mind was very much on this problem whenever I thought of knitting, so I couldn’t come up with something non-whiney…

Long story short: That red-and-yellow thingie I’ve worked on for about 40 hours – I’ll have to start over. Because the yarn is being discontinued. Which, if I may say so, kind of sucks. But I’ve resigned myself to the fact and am waiting for the new yarn (whatever it may be) to arrive.

Then there’s the yarn I’ve been waiting for to start knitting up another sample – I finally inquired and heard back, that the company seemed not to have gotten the request and would send it out soon now. Good thing I asked… and that this is a quick knit!

The third batch of yarn I’m waiting for still isn’t in stock. So I’ll keep on waiting, baby!

Thus  I’m sitting here, 4 deadlines around the corner, but not working on the designs because I can’t. Humph.

That’s that.

Since I haven’t been knitting (much, there’s still swatching and sketching and general trying out of ideas to occupy me), I’ve been making jam.

Quite delicious jam, if I say so myself, from apples and pears a very nice friend gave me. I believe out of a relative’s garden. Or the friend’s relative’s neighbour’s garden. Well, I’m reasonably sure they came out of a garden and they didn’t see a herbicide or pesticide in their lives. I’ve had some of it for breakfast today, and it cheered me up immensely. It’s been improvised from the basic recipe on the preserving sugar packaging…

Fall Jam from pears and apples

(makes about 6 medium jars of jam)

  • 500 g ripe pears
  • 500 g sour apples
  • 500 g preserving sugar
  • 2 small lemons
  • 1 sprig of rosemary
  • cinnamon
  • rum or calvados
  • empty jam jars
  1. Thoroughly wash the fruit – they won’t be peeled, so you got to be sure everything’s good and clean – remove the cores and chop finely. This jam isn’t blended later, so you’ll want really small pieces. Chopped Apples
  2. Squeeze the lemons and mix the juice with the sliced fruit in a large cooking pot. Add a generous pinch of ground cinnamon and preserving sugar and let it sit for about 30 min to draw water.
    (If you get unsprayed lemons, you may also add a bit of grated lemon peel.)
  3. In the meantime make sure that your jars are good and clean. (I usually boil them in water to sterilize them, because I’d really hate to find my jam has gone bad after a few months…)
  4. Put the pot on the stove, add whole sprig of rosemary and stir while you bring the fruit and sugar mix to a boil over high heat.Boiling Jam with Rosemary
  5. Add 2 tablespoons of rum or calvados. (I used rum, because there was no calvados around.)
  6. Let it boil for 5 minutes and keep stirring. Remove rosemary. (I prefer my jam to be chunky. If you don’t, now’s the time to blend…)Apfelmarmelade
  7. Take the pot from the stove and immediately ladle the boiling hot mass into prepared jam jars. Let them cool standing on their lids.
  8. Enjoy!Butterbrot

I had it for breakfast on lightly toasted rye-bread with fresh butter. Yum!

Have a great weekend!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “In which I do not knit, but jam

Share your thoughts

