WIP Wednesday 164 – In which I knit an opera

Hi everyone! I hope you’re all doing fine.

Majoran

I’m a happy camper, since nature has decided to grace us with a bunch of beautifully sunny and crisp fall days. My mood always adjusts to the weather, and a long stretch of dreary greyness leaves me downcast and unhappy, while a few days of sunshine make me want to sing the whole day…

Also improving my mood is the fact that I sent two finished samples and pattern drafts off to the UK this week. Nothing like completing a task to make you feel accomplished and contented. This has the added bonus of leaving me a bit of time for private knitting, which I may actually share pictures and information about. Yay!

I’m making the Flying Dutchman socks – a pattern that’s been on my to-do-list for a few months, with a very specific recipient in mind. On monday, while out grocery shopping I came across this yarn in the absolutely perfect colours!

Flying Dutchman Arrangement

Taking advantage of the wonderful weather, I took myself, my knitting, a glass of fresh apple juice and an audio book out onto the balcony. Flying Dutchman is a well written pattern and easy to follow, which probably wasn’t easy to achieve with this in-the-round Jacquard technique. Chapeau to the designer!

Flying Dutchman Closeup

I made a few modifications to the original:

  • Knit in a slightly larger gauge, since I need the socks to fit my father, not a medium-sized lady (the men in my family are virtual big-foots)
  • Knit an afterthought heel instead of a flap-and-gusset heel (purely because I’m lazy)
  • Have the motif show on the outer, instead of the inner calf

Can you see the ship appear in the stripes on the leg? It’s hard to photograph in full sunlight, but it looks great in reality! My dad, being a passionate yachtsman, will hopefully be as thrilled with this ghostly yacht appearing on his socks as I am…

WIP buttonAs always, I’m joining up with the knitting crowd gathered at Tami’s Amis for WIP Wednesdays… why not go and pay a visit?

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday 164 – In which I knit an opera

Share your thoughts

