Ravelry Roundup – Get Cushy!

Usually I have a little bit of time to spare during the weekends and yes, I have to plead guilty, I often spend too much of it browsing through the patterns on Ravelry. I know I’m only making my bad case of castonitis worse, but what can I say… I’m a weak knitter. And, since misery loves company: why not drag you all down with me into the mire of knitting addiction?

In my Ravelry Roundups I’ll share with you a handful of patterns I’ve collected and that

  1. may either be themed or be a collection of last week’s newly published favourites
  2. are available for download (paid or free), not in print publications – that’s because not everyone may be able to get their hands on those
  3. are written in English or have an English translation – because not everyone’s comfortable with knitting from only half understood foreign language patterns.

Those patterns are not tried and tested by me – they’re just what took my fancy this week.

This time it’ll be:

Cushy Cable Cushions

Who doesn’t love themselves a nice, intricate and mind-boggling cable pattern? I certainly do! But. All over cabled sweaters or cardigans are not always the answer to cable-cravings… Often they get too busy for my taste. And size matters. Sometimes I don’t want to commit myself to working weeks on a complete garment.

So why not try a few cabled pillow cases? Here are a few of my favourites:

Cuddle Up Cusions by Alex Lawson

Cuddle Up Cushions by Alex Lawson

These are actually three patterns advancing in difficulty from beginner to advanced. I like the idea of starting with easy knit and purl combinations and ending with the pictured intricate cables (the back sides are pretty as well). I’d probably work buttonholes to close the flap, instead of sewing on snaps.

~

Celtic Comfort pattern by Mary Henderson

Celtic Comfort pattern by Mary Henderson

I can very well imagine a few of these in different shades piled on my bedspread.  Using thick yarn and big needles this would be a quick project. Sort of  “Milky Way knitting” – the project you can have in between without ruining your appetite for the main course.

~

Rowan_pillow_medium

Celtic Rowan Pillow by Barbara A Pott

Celtic Oak Pillow by Barbara A Pott

I love these! This is cabling and appliqué in perfection. The center panels are worked first, then the border pattern with the mitered corners.

The rowan berries and acorns are special favourites of mine.

Are you wondering about the strange “lumps” coming out of the twigs? Those are letters from the ancient Irish Ogham alphabet that are represented by the plants depicted. The designer planned to make a whole series of this, but sadly there’s only two of them available. I’d love to see more!

Enhanced by Zemanta

5 thoughts on “Ravelry Roundup – Get Cushy!

  1. Pingback: Ravelry Mondays July Edition | Whipped-Stitch Witchery

Share your thoughts